HB2626 in the Senate

It takes a village to raise a child and also to make a difference in advocacy!

AAGT truly appreciates all your work in emailing, calling and supporting our initiatives with HB2626 – but our work continues.

We are asking that you take time to email to the Senate Appropriations Committee members, the Senate Education Committee leaders as well as your own senator on HB2626.

This bill, as it is written, is for $1million one time, which does not meet our goal of $5million ongoing. There is a recommendation in the senate for $2million ongoing, and we need to ask the committees to consider amending the bill to match the recommendation.

We will keep you updated of hearings and the bill progress.


Dear Senator (last name),

My name is [your name], and I live in [city, in Arizona]. Thank you for your service to our great state of AZ. I am writing to ask you to please review HB2626 and consider an amendment to make the bill consistent with the Senate recommendation to $2 Million Ongoing for Gifted Education Funding. 

Our schools rely on this funding to identify our gifted children, plan gifted programs, and provide professional development year after year. $1Million only allocates certain schools $2000 per year, which is barely enough to cover identification materials. Ongoing funding is imperative to our school’s planning and ensuring a program can be sustained year after year. 

Gifted Education is especially important to me. [State a personal story and/or reason why you support gifted education funding]

I am appreciative of your time and consideration of HB2626.


[Your Name]

Members of the Senate Education Committee

Sylvia Allen (Chairwoman) – sallen@azleg.gov

Paul Boyer (Vice Chair) – pboyer@azleg.gov

Sonny Borrelli – sborrelli@azleg.gov

Kate Brophy-McGee – kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov

Andrea Dalessandro – adalessandro@azleg.gov

Sally Ann Gonzales – sgonzales@azleg.gov

Rick Gray – rgray@azleg.gov

Tyler Pace – tpace@azleg.gov

Martin Quezada – mquezada@azleg.gov

Members of the Senate Appropriations Committee

Lisa Alston – lalston@azleg.gov

Sean Bowie – sbowie@azleg.gov

Heather Carter – hcarter@azleg.gov

David Gowan – dgowan@azleg.gov

Sine Kerr – skerr@azleg.gov

Vince Leach – vleach@azleg.gov

David Livingston – dlivingston@azleg.gov

Lisa Otondo – lotondo@azleg.gov

Michelle Ugenti-Rita – mugenti-rita@azleg.gov

We must keep the momentum and conversation going!


Use Find My Legislature to identify your state senator. 

This is our best chance to get additional funding this year!
Your voice counts!

Thank you!

CAN Email Sign Up
Sign up for advocacy updates directly to your inbox!

Find Your District

Use https://www.azleg.gov/findmylegislator/ to identify your Districts.

Post a Comment