CAN ALERT: A Win Towards Funding Gifted Education!

Tonight (March 31) we have wonderful news! HB2817 was heard in the Senate Appropriations Committee and was voted 9-1 as a recommended do pass!

It has now been heard by both the House and the Senate, so what are next steps? It will need to pass through conference committees and then presented to the Governor. But today’s senate vote gave us a huge boost towards our goals!

THANK YOU ALL FOR SIGNING TO THE SYSTEM AND GIVING A THUMBS UP, YOUR EMAILS AND YOUR CALLS – THEY ALL MADE A HUGE IMPACT.

What can you do right now?

Encourage your friends, family, community and anyone you know that cares about education to join our CAN List for future action alerts! Visit arizonagifted.org/advocacy to sign up.
Together we can get this done!

Special Thanks!

Thank you to Rep. Pawlik and Rep. Udall for writing and presenting the original bill putting Gifted Education in Group B Weights and for funding universal screening.

Thank you to Rep. Aaron Lieberman for agreeing to allow us to use his bill as a striker in order to be heard through the Senate, we wouldn’t have had an opportunity this year without him.

Thank you to Sen. Sean Bowie who sponsored the striker language in the appropriations committee.

And finally thank you to the nine members of the appropriations committee that voted yes to support Gifted Education: David Gowan (Chair), Vince Leach (Vice-Chairman), Lela Alston, Sean Bowie, Sine Kerr, David Livingston, Tony Navarrete, Lisa Otondo, Kelly Townsend.

Feel free to email them thank you for the work they have done!

jpawlik@azleg.gov, mudall@azleg.gov, alieberman@azleg.gov, dgowan@azleg.gov, vleach@azleg.gov, lalston@azleg.gov, sbowie@azleg.gov, skerr@azleg.gov, dlivingston@azleg.gov, tnavarrete@azleg.gov, lotondo@azleg.gov, ktownsend@azleg.gov

Thank you for your support!

Arizona Association for Gifted and Talented
Donna Campbell, Advocacy Chair
dcampbell@azgifted.com

Post a Comment