HB2626 Moves to Senate Appropriations Committee

House Bill 2626 passed through the Senate Education Committee and will now be heard in the Senate Appropriations Committee on Tuesday, March 17, 2020 at 2:00 pm in Senate Hearing Room (SHR) 109.

During the Senate Education Committee, there was good discussion led by Senator Kate Brophy-McGee and Senator Sylvia Allen regarding the amount of funding in the bill and the concern that the funding was not ongoing.

We are hopeful this discussion will lead to a solution that will get us closer to our goal of $5 million ongoing.

We need your help – Weekend Homework:

Please email the members of the Senate Appropriations Committee and encourage them to increase funding to $2 million ongoing, consistent with the Senate proposed budget.

Be sure to include in your email how you see addressing the unique needs of gifted students is important to you personally, to your community and to our state and nation.

The Legislative leaders have requested to send emails and sign in to the Request to Speak system to leave comments rather than attending the hearing.

Members of the Senate Appropriations Committee

Sen. David Gowan, Chair               dgowan@azleg.gov

Sen. Vince Leach, Vice Chair        vleach@azleg.gov

Sen. Lela Alston                               lalston@azleg.gov

Sen. Sean Bowie                             sbowie@azleg.gov

Sen. Heather Carter                         hcarter@azleg.gov

Sen. Sine Kerr                                  skerr@azleg.gov

Sen. David Livingston                     dlivingston@azleg.gov

Sen. Lisa Otondo                             lotondo@azleg.gov

Sen. Michelle Ugenti-Rita               mugenti-rita@azleg.gov

 

Thank you!

Arizona Association for Gifted and Talented

Donna Campbell, Advocacy Chair dcampbell@azgifted.com

Post a Comment