HB2626 Continues to MOVE ON – March 10 Hearing

House Bill 2626 will be heard in the Senate Education Committee on Tuesday, March 10, 2020 at 2:00 pm in Senate Hearing Room (SHR) 1.

We persist in our quest to get full funding of the mandate at $5 million.

Governor Ducey has included $1 million ongoing in his budget and we stand a good chance of that becoming $2 million ongoing if the Legislature places it in their budget.

Gifted students will not make it on their own. They are at the mercy of the teacher in the classroom to provide appropriately challenging curriculum and instruction and at the mercy of the school and district to provide programs and services that address their unique learning differences. Professional Development for teachers and the creation of a sustainable K-12 plan for gifted education takes funding!

We have an opportunity to move closer toward that goal with your help! We have three ways to show your support for HB2626

Send Emails the Senate Education Committee

Please email the members of the Senate Education Committee and encourage them to amend HB2626 to increase the funding in the Bill from $1 million one-time to $2 million ongoing. The $2 million ongoing is consistent with the Senate proposed budget.

Be sure to include in your email how you see addressing the unique needs of gifted students is important to you personally, to your community and to our state and nation.

Members of the Senate Education Committee

Sen. Sylvia Allen, Chair sallen@azleg.gov

Sen. Paul Boyer, Vice Chair pboyer@azleg.gov

Sen. Sonny Borrelli sborrelli@azleg.gov

Sen. Kate Brophy-McGee kbrophymcgee@azleg.gov

Sen. Andrea Dalessandro adalessandro@azleg.gov

Sen. Sally Ann Gonzales sgonzales@azleg.gov

Sen. Rick Gray rgray@azleg.gov

Sen. Tyler Pace tpace@azleg.gov

Sen. Martin Quezada mquezada@azleg.gov

SHOW UP AND SHOW YOUR SUPPORT!

Can you be at the State Capital on Tuesday, March 10th?

Please come to the hearing to support our gifted students.

Bring your friends and relatives. Students are most welcome!

Use the Legislative Web Application to Show Support

Please sign in to “request to speak” and give a thumbs up to the Bill along with a comment that supports an amendment to HB2626 to increase funding to $2 million ongoing.

Thank you to all our advocates! Your support and hard work is paying off!

Post a Comment